Safety Motor Vehicles And New Department License Florida Florida's Card Highway Id Driver Of -
- What driver’s education is required?
- What are the requirements to apply for my driving permit?
- What documents must I fill out at the DMV to get my permit/driver’s license?
- What restrictions come with my driver’s permit?
- When can I get my driver’s license?
- What do I need before I can get my permit?
- What tests must I pass?
- What restrictions if any are there for new drivers?
- Once I get my permit, what do I need to do before I can drive with my parents?
- What documents do I need to go to the DMV?
The DHSMV requires first-time license applicants to successfully complete a Traffic Law and Substance Education course from one of the approved providers:
• Florida Association of DUI Programs
• American Safety Institute, Inc.
• #1 Lowest Price Traffic School
• The Florida Virtual School
• #1 A Driver Training Associates
• First Time Driver Program
• South Florida Safety Program
• Florida Educational Driving School
• St. Petersburg College
• The American Safety Council
• I Drive Safely
Safety Motor Vehicles And New Department License Florida Florida's Card Highway Id Driver Of • National Safety Council
• National Traffic Safety Institute
Most providers offer both classroom and Internet instruction in English and Spanish.
The State of Florida has a graduated driver’s license program with the following requirements:
• You must be at least 15 years old.
• You must provide proof that you have completed a Traffic Law and Substance Education course (TLSAE). If you have never held a regular driver’s license in any country, state or jurisdiction.
• You must submit a Parental Consent Form that must be signed in the presence of a driver’s license examiner or submit a notarized form if your parent or legal guardian is not present at the time. Stepparents are not authorized to sign the form unless they have legally adopted you.
• You must be between the ages of 16 and 17 years old.
• You must have held a Learner’s License for at least a year without any traffic convictions.
• You must submit a Florida Learner’s License or a valid license from another country, state or jurisdiction.
• Your parent or legal guardian must certify that you have completed at minimum of 50 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction and 10 hours must be completed at night.
You must complete an application for a Florida driver’s license at a DHSMV office. Appointments can be made through the On-line Appointment Service and Information System (OASIS). Your parents or legal guardian will need to sign the parental consent form or you can submit a notarized form.
Submitting false information on a driver’s license application can result in being charged with a third-degree felony offense, which carries a fine of $5,000 and up to five years in state prison. Your driving privileges may also be suspended for a year.
The State of Florida has the following restrictions:
• You must always have a licensed driver who is 21 years of age or older with you at all times. This person must be seated in the passenger seat next to you.
• For the first three months you are only allowed to drive during daylight hours.
• After three months you may drive until 10 pm.
• Drivers who are 16 years old are only allowed to drive between 6 am and 11 pm.
• All other times they must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is 21 years or older and occupies the seat next to them unless driving to or from work.
• Drivers who are 17 years old are only allowed to drive between 5 am and 1 am.
• All other times they must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is 21 years or older and occupies the seat to them unless driving to or from work.
• Drivers who are 18 years old may drive at any time without supervision.
You can get your license once the following has been done:
• You must be 15 years of age or older
• Pass the 40-question DMV test
• Pass the vision test
• Pass the hearing test
• Submit thumbprint
• Have your picture take
• Pass the TLSAE course if you have never had a license before
• You must be at least 16 years or older
• Have held a Learner’s License for one year
• Have not had any traffic convictions
• Complete 50 hours of practice driving including 10 hours at night
• Pass the driving skill test
Before you can get your Learner’s or Operator’s License, you must do the following:
Successfully complete a TLSAE course if you have never held any type of license before.
Pass a behind-the-wheel driving test performing these specific maneuvers:
• Turn About—Turn your vehicle around in a 30 to 40 foot space, also known as a three-point turn.
• Shifting Gears—If you have a manual shift vehicle, you must be able to shift gears smoothly.
• Parking—Park your vehicle in a straight-in parking spot, centered in the spot.
• Stop Quickly—While driving vehicle at 20 miles per hour, you must make a quick and safe stop.
• Backing Up—Back your vehicle up for 50 feet slowly while turning your head and looking out the rear window.
• Stop Signs—Bring your vehicle to a complete stop. Use turn signals to indicate if you are making a turn. Proceed into the intersection when it’s safe.
• Signal & Turn—You must signal 100 feet before making a turn.
• Stay in Correct Lane—Drive vehicle in right lane unless you are on a one-way street.
More details about the driving test can be found in the Florida Driver’s Manual.
The Florida DHSMV requires teen drivers to pass the following tests:
Road Rules Test
• The road rules test consists of 20 multiple-choice questions about the Florida traffic laws. You must answer 15 questions correctly in order to pass the test. There will be specific questions about driving under the influence and blood alcohol levels. You must correctly answer at least 15 questions to pass the test.
Road Signs Test
• The road signs test consists of 20 multiple-choice questions. You will be showed a picture of a road sign and you must correctly identify the sign by the shape or meaning. You must answer at least 15 questions correctly to pass the test.
• The vision test is conducted using an eye machine. You must have 20/40 or better vision in each and both eyes to pass the test, with or without glasses or corrective lenses. If your vision is 20/200 in one eye, the other eye must have 20/40 vision. If you need glasses or corrective lenses to pass the test, your license will have a restriction “code A” on it.
• You must be able to pass a normal hearing test.
All drivers between 15 and 17 with a Learner’s License must not have any traffic convictions. If you accumulate points on your license, you will have to wait 12 months or until you turn 18 before being eligible for an Operator’s License.
Make sure that your parents add you to their auto insurance policy. The State of Florida requires the following coverage:
• Liability for bodily injury of one person—$10,000
• Liability for bodily injury to all passengers in vehicle—$20,000
• Property damage—$10,000
Florida is a no-fault state which means that each insurance company compensates their own policyholder, regardless of who was at fault.
When you visit the local License Branch office of the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV), you will be asked for proof of identification, Social Security number and proof of Florida residence. You can submit any of the following documents:
Proof of Identification—U.S. Citizens
• An original or certified copy of a United States birth certificate including U.S. territories and the District of Columbia
• A valid United States passport or passport card
• Consular Report of Birth Abroad
• Certificate of Naturalization (Form N-550 or Form N-570)
• Certificate of Citizenship (Form N-560 or Form N-561)
Proof of Identification—Canadian Citizens
• Valid Canadian passport
• Original or certified copy of Canadian birth certificate
• Canadian Naturalization Certificate
• Canadian Certificate of Citizenship
Proof of Identification—Immigrants
• Valid Alien Registration card
• I-551 stamp in foreign passport or on I-94 documents
• Immigration Judges Order with customer’s A-number granting asylum
• I-797 with customer’s A-number stating the customer has been granted asylum
• I-797 or other form from the Bureau of Citizenship and Immigration Services with customer’s A-number stating the customer has been granted Refugee status
Proof of Identification—Non-Immigrants (Must provide proof of Social Security number and two proofs of residential address)
• Employment authorization card issued by the United States Department of Homeland Security (Form I688B or I-766)
• Proof of non-immigrant classification provided by the United States Department of Homeland Security (Form I-94 with supporting documents)
Proof of Social Security Number
• An original Social Security card
• W-2 form with your Social Security number on it
• Paystub or paycheck with your Social Security number on it
• Any 1099 form with your Social Security number on it
You must bring a letter from the Social Security Administration (SSA) proving that you were never issued a Social Security number. You will also need to present at least one additional piece of identification from the list below:
1. Driver’s license from another state, the District of Columbia or U.S. territory
2. School record showing date of birth with registrar’s signature
3. Transcript of birth record filed by a public officer whose duty includes recording certificates
4. Baptism certificate showing date of birth and place of baptism
5. Family Bible record of birth announcement in baby book
6. An insurance policy on your life that has date of birth and has been in force for two years or more
7. United States military or military dependent identification card
8. An identification card from another state, the District of Columbia or U.S. territory
9. Florida identification or license record
10. Selective Service Registration (draft card)
11. Florida vehicle registration certificate
12. Receipt copy from last time you were issued a Florida driver’s license
13. Immigration form I-571
14. Military DD-214 record
15. Marriage certificate
16. Court order with full legal name
17. Florida Voter Registration Card issued at least three months prior
18. Parent consent form of minor signed by your parent or legal guardian
19. Government issued foreign passport, identification card or driver’s license
20. Concealed weapons permit
Proof of Florida Residency
• Mortgage statement, rental or lease agreement
• Florida Voter Registration Card
• Florida Vehicle Title or Registration
• Florida Boat Title or Registration
• Statement from parent, legal guardian or stepparent of applicant
• Utility hook-up work order dated within 60 days of application
• Automobile payment booklet
• Selective Service Card
• Medical or healthcare card with address
• Current homeowner insurance policy or bill
• Current auto insurance policy or bill
• Educational institution transcript form for current school year
• Unexpired professional license issued by a U.S. government agency
• W-2 or 1099 form
• Certificate of Eligibility for Exchange Visitor (J-1) status (Form DS2019)
• Letter from a homeless shelter, halfway house or transitional service provider verifying customer resides at the address
• Utility bills (not more than 60 days old)
• Mail from city, county, state or federal government agency
• Florida Department Law Enforcement registration form completed by the local sheriff’s department